About Our Trustees

Foundation Appointed Trustees:

Mrs Margaret Clarke

In 1985, as Chair of KLB PTA, Margaret was encouraged to stand and was elected for one of the new positions of parent trustee, when the school was first allowed to have parent trustees. Then in 1989, she became an LEA trustee and in 1994 a Foundation Trustee and a Trustee of the Foundation. Margaret was Chair of the trustee body for 10 years and is currently Chair of the KLBS Foundation.

Parent trustees:

Andrew Covell

Andrew was elected to the Trustee body in March 2019 and brings previous experience as a trustee of a medium-sized primary school where he was vice-chair and chair of the Finance, Premises and Staff committee. A Chartered Quantity Surveyor, he has significant experience of the design, procurement, construction and maintenance of schools having been a Lead Technical Advisor on the Building Schools for the Future Programme. Andrew is currently on secondment working on a large infrastructure project in the South West. He lives in Thornbury and is married to Sarah, and has two children one of whom attends KLB.

Paul Downs
Stephen Watson

Stephen was elected to the Trustee body in Dec 21 and is a Lieutenant Commander in the Royal Navy, bringing with him operational experience of managing a variety of different organisations. A Chartered Fellow of the Chartered Management Institute, he is also the Chair for the UK Armed Forces Judo Association, and a board member of the British Judo Council. Based at RNAS Yeovilton, Somerset, he commutes daily from his home in Wotton under Edge He is married to Charlotte – a Management Consultant and has a daughter who attends KLB.

Zarah Morwood 

Zarah joined the Board of Trustees in December 2021. She is an Employment Lawyer with over 21 years’ experience working for various law firms and private businesses. She also runs her own legal Consultancy firm, where she advises on all aspects of employment law and HR matters such as drafting legally compliant documentation as well as dealing with redundancies, disciplinaries, grievances and facilitating mediation, legal training, investigations and Tribunal hearings. She has also worked as a part time Associate Law Lecturer at her local university and has served as a Community Governor at a secondary school in Buckinghamshire. Zarah is married to Ray and has recently moved to Falfield, her youngest daughter has just joined Year 7

Co-opted trustees:

Sarah Plant

Sarah was co-opted to the trustee body in September 2017. She attended KLB herself as a pupil from 1997 completing the sixth form in 2004. Sarah works in a technical role in research and design at the locally based engineering company, Renishaw plc. Engineering is a problem-solving discipline requiring great attention to detail and Sarah brings this experience to the governor role. Since 2011, she has lived in Chipping Sodbury.

Member appointed Trustees

Simon Weston

Simon joined the Trustee Body in October 2018. He was a Trustee at Bluecoat CEVA Primary School, Wotton-under-Edge, for 7 years and Chair of Governors for 3 years. Simon is a Chartered Architect and is a director of an Architecture and Building Surveying Practice in Bristol. Simon has lived in Wotton since 1999.

Staff trustees:



Sharon Reynolds

Sharon joined KLB as Head of Psychology in September 2019. Her son has been a student at KLB. She spent many years working and travelling in Europe and the USA before settling down in London where she became a mature student qualifying as a teacher of Geography and Psychology. Sharon then moved to Wotton under Edge to work at Marlwood School in the early 2000s where she has taught geography, psychology, BTEC children’s care, learning and development and sociology.

Geoff Warnock

Trustee Roles


  • Andrew Covell


  • Sarah Plant

Finance and Staffing

  • Headteacher
  • Paul Downs
  • Andrew Covell
  • Ritchie Jackman
  • Margaret Clark

Teaching and Learning

  • Sarah Plant (Chair)
  • Ed Thomas (primary staff responsibilty)
  • Sharon Reynolds
  • Simon Weston

Community and Wellbeing Committee

  • Simon Weston (Chair)
  • Hannah Khan
  • Geoff Warnock
  • Andrew Covell
  • Sarah Plant

Exclusion Hearings, Complaints Appeals and Disciplinary Panels

  • Margaret Clarke

Safeguarding Lead Trustee

  • Simon Weston
  • Curriculum

  • Information